GILMER INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

COUNTY OF UPSHUR

The Board of Trustees of Gilmer Independent School District met in special session on Monday, August 4, 2014, at 3:00 PM at the Gilmer ISD Administration Boardroom, 500 S. Trinity, Gilmer, Texas.

Board members present: absent:

Gloria King Todd Tefteller Mark Skinner Diedra Camp Kenny Southwell Jeff Rash, presiding (arrived at 3:23 p.m.)

Also present were Rick Albritton, administrators and interested citizens

CALL TO ORDER: Mr. Southwell at 3:20 PM

INVOCATION: Mr. Skinner

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: Mr. Southwell

PUBLIC COMMENTS/AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION: None

APPROVE ESTEEM CURRICULUM FOR CHARACTER EDUCATION: Motion was made by Mr. Skinner and seconded by Mr. Southwell to approve the ESTEEM Curriculum for Character Education. Motion carried with 6 ayes and no noes.

STUDENT TRANSFERS FOR SCHOOL YEAR 2014-2015: Motion was made by Mr. Southwell and seconded by Mr. Tefteller that the Board approve the student transfers for 2014-2015 (with the removal of the name of Ishmael Scruggs) as recommended. (All item information on file) Motion carried with 6 ayes and no noes.

BUDGET WORKSHOP/TRAINING SESSION AND GOAL SETTING

EXECUTIVE SESSION (CLOSED): No Closed Session

PERSONNEL RECOMMENDATIONS FOR 2014-2015:

Motion was made by Mr. Tefteller and seconded by Mrs. King to employ James McCauley for the 2014-2015 school year. Motion carried with 6 ayes and no noes.

Motion was made by Mrs. Skinner and seconded by Mrs. King to employ Maria Dangel for the 2014-2015 school year. Motion carried with 6 ayes and no noes.

Prior to adjournment, motion was made by Mr. Southwell and seconded by Mr. Skinner to approve Ismael Scruggs 2014-2015 student transfer request. Motion carried with 6 ayes and no noes.

ADJOURNMENT: Motion was made by Mr. Tefteller and seconded by Mr. Southwell to adjourn the meeting at 8:15 PM. Motion carried with 6 ayes and no noes.

By:	By:
Jeff Rash, Board President	Gloria King, Secretary

RECOMMENDATIONS FOR CONTRACT EMPLOYMENT FOR 2014-2015:

TERM recommendations:

Marie Davis Samantha Griffin (excluded from Board action) Candace Leatherbury Dennis Payne

PROBATIONARY recommendations:

Corey Jenkins
Heather Bates
Colton Bunn
Cathleen Broussard
Jennifer Jones-Rucker
Shanda Ashby
Tiara Whitsell
Tabitha Lair
Katie Davis
Morgan Shepherd